none Pedagogy Study Group

Join us for two PSG-sponsored sessions at the AMS meeting in Milwaukee:

1. The End of the Undergraduate Music History Sequence?
Co-chairs: Colin Roust (University of Kansas) and Douglass Seaton (Florida State University)
Panelists: J. Peter Burkholder (Indiana University), Don Gibson (Florida State University; former President of NASM), and Melanie Lowe (Vanderbilt University)

This Friday morning short session will feature a discussion of chronological and non-chronological approaches to the undergraduate music history sequence, and how they relate to the most recent version of the NASM accreditation standards.

2. Assessing Student Learning in the Online Environment
Chair: Kevin Burke (Florida Institute of Technology
Panelists: Jennifer Hund (Purdue University), Douglas Shadle (Vanderbilt University), Jennifer Snodgrass (Appalachian State University), Kris Shaffer (University of Colorado, Boulder), and Elizabeth Wells (Mount Allison University)

This Friday evening session will feature a practice-oriented discussion of student assessments using Blackboard, Moodle, Desire2Learn, and other learning management systems.

In addition, the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music will be hosting a pedagogy session on Friday evening, entitled "After Orfeo: Music History Pedagogy in the Seventeenth Century."

The annual PSG business meeting will follow our Friday evening session and will feature the election of a new Secretary. We offer our gratitude to Christina Fuhrmann, who is stepping down from this position after serving two terms.

See you in Milwaukee!


Site maintained by Patrick Fairfield